doodle Books doodle

The Land of Forgotten Girls
Greenwillow Books (2016)
The Land of Forgotten Girls

buy custom essays 4th grade research paper format anton bruckner locus iste analysis essay https://ramapoforchildren.org/youth/college-paper-writing-service-reviews/47/ viagra originale acquisto go to link i m not scared essay the human rights essay business proposal letter viagra no prescription fast shipping writing argumentative essay go here gruppa viagra wiki source a rose for emily essays and analysis see url see cigna cialis prior auth form https://efm.sewanee.edu/faq/dissertation-obligation-in-solidum/22/ priligy generico esistemas bangladesh independence essay see cialis drug in india breaking a bad habit process essay lamictal blood level articles about gay marriage legalization essay http://hyperbaricnurses.org/5016-viagra-causing-infertility-in-males/ 650 word essay length for college canada drugs no prescription inhalers alternativas a la viagra sin receta here essays on paul rand In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls “A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.” For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents’ Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove—their mythical, world-traveling aunt—is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, “Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.”

Harper Collins PublishersBookshop.org
AmazonBarnes & Noble

From School Library Journal

Gr 3–6—Soledad and Ming, two sisters from the Philippines, live in Louisiana with their evil stepmother, Vea. All Sol and Ming have is each other and their stories. Both girls inherited a lively imagination from their mother, Mei-Mei. When she was alive, Mei-Mei wove enthralling tales about her magical sister, Jove, who traveled around the world. The girls cling to tales of Auntie Jove as a hope of escape while living in a dreary apartment with miserable Vea. Sol worries for her younger sister as Ming begins to believe Auntie Jove is a reality, blurring the lines between fact and fiction. Can Sol save her sister from the depression caused by her own stories, or have they done irreparable damage? Is there a way for Sol, Ming, and Vea to understand one another and be happy in their own reality? Readers will become engrossed in the enchanting plot propelled by delightful narration. This book will appeal to a broad array of readers, as it has a little bit of everything—fantasy, realism, sisterhood, friendship, suspense, and humor. VERDICT A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.

– Tiffany Davis, Mount Saint Mary College, Newburgh, NY

“Praise for Blackbird Fly: Each character in Kelly’s debut novel is portrayed with remarkable authenticity. The awkwardness and intense feelings inherent to middle school are palpable. Children’s literature has been waiting for Apple Yengko―a strong, Asian-American girl whose ethnic identity simultaneously complicates and enriches her life.” -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Kelly deftly captures the tumultuous emotions of a preteen who is forced to grow up faster than other girls her age.” -Kirkus Reviews

“A smart, sensitive, and resilient heroine who is authentic and relatable in her strengths and imperfections. This poignant novel would make for a particularly fine read aloud; expect visceral reactions. This is a must-read for those kids cringing at their own identities.”
-Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Will resonate with any student in middle school who has felt different and ostracized. The author has skillfully captured the various characters that populate Apple’s school.” -School Library Journal (starred review)

“Writing with acute sensitivity and sometimes painful realism, debut novelist Kelly skillfully captures the betrayals, tentative first crushes, and fluctuating emotions of middle school… a true triumph.” -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A delightful debut. Through her love of music, Apple starts to soar like the eponymous blackbird of her favorite Beatles song.”
-Los Angeles Times Book Review

“Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.” -Booklist (starred review)

“An enchanting plot propelled by delightful narration. This book will appeal to a broad array of readers, as it has a little bit of everything-fantasy, realism, sisterhood, friendship, suspense, and humor. A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.” -School Library Journal (starred review)

“This stirring and original story ends on a credibly hopeful note while remaining firmly rooted in reality, and readers who have embraced Sol will be cautiously optimistic for her future. Sol’s central struggles are gripping. Fans of Rita Williams-Garcia’s family may particularly enjoy spending time with Sol.” -Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Kelly balances the bleak and the beautiful in a novel about the multilayered bond between sisters. Kelly’s strong heroine offers hope in the face of loss.” -Publishers Weekly

 

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Mailing List